Skip to Content Skip to Navigation

Scott D. Marshall: Bio

Toronto - based saxophonist, composer, producer, and band leader Scott Marshall is highly sought after for his skills within the jazz community and professional jobbing circles. A skilled composer and arranger, Scott’s compositions have been featured on four of his of his own releases: Nihahi Ridge (2014), Vignettes (2010), Nine Moments of Time (2007), and Face it (2002), as well as two releases by the group Out of Order: What Now (2000), and Out of Order (1997).  Scott co-produced and arranged all the music for Lyne Tremblay’s critically acclaimed release Break and Enter (2003) and served as Lyne’s music director for several years. Scott has also appeared as a guest soloist on several releases including: Bill Stevenson’s ECMA award winning cd For the Record, Tom Leighton’s Leighton Tendencies (2010), Tom Swift’s new release The Fortunate Few (2013), and NOJO’S critically acclaimed release NOJO Explores the Dark Side (2010).

In addition to recording Scott Marshall has performed with a lengthy and diverse list of accomplished musicians including: Norah Jones, Johnny Mathus, The Temptations, The Four Tops, Bobby Caldwell, Russel de Carle, The Shuffle Demons, Denzel Sinclaire, The Kitchener Waterloo Symphony Orchestra, Manteca, Shadmehr Aghilli, Hot Toddy, Bill Stevenson, Lyne Tremblay, Out of Order, and the Juno-winning big-band NOJO, not to mention Wynton Marsalis stopping by to sit in with his quartet.

The Scott Marshall Quartet was formed in Toronto in 2005. In the ensuing years the quartet through regular gigs at street festivals, jazz festivals, jazz clubs, and private cocktail events has slowly built up a loyal following, and prompted Dave Milborne of the Toronto Jazz Magazine to write:
    “ Catch the Scott Marshall Quartet when you can, you won’t be disappointed!”
  A must see of the Toronto jazz scene, the group has also toured coast to coast in Canada and become household names on the jazz programming of 91.1 Jazz FM and the CBC!
A who’s who of Canadian jazz scene have played with Marshall’s quartet over the years, and famed trumpet legend Wynton Marsalis has even stopped by to sit in with the band!

Nihahi Ridge (2014) is the third recording of original music that the group has released, preceded by Vignettes (2010) and Nine Moments of Time (2007).  
Face It (2002) was recorded by The Scott Marshall Trio.

The Scott Marshall Quartet is: Scott Marshall on saxophones. Wes Neal on acoustic bass, Marcel Aucoin on piano. Nick Fraser on drums.